DAY 4 : Yoga Revolution Day 8 (Serenity)

Love. You can learn all the math in the ‘Verse, but you take a boat in the air that you don’t love, she’ll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps her in the air when she oughta fall down, tells you she’s hurtin’ ‘fore she keens. Makes her a home.

— Captain Malcolm Reynolds, ‘Serenity’

Well, I’m sorry (I’m not really), but you can’t call a practice “serenity” without expecting the odd ‘Firefly’ or ‘Serenity’ reference. I love this quote, even though I’m pretty sure that maths rather than love is actually more important when it comes to keeping spaceships flying.

Anyway, back to the yoga… this practice was 100% what I needed today. After a week of Revolution, it was great to slow down and take a softer approach (and although I didn’t see the cheeky bit of ab work coming, it was appreciated!). As mentioned yesterday, my head’s been a bit all over the place for the past couple of days. That’s led to stress, which I always hold in my back and hips, so the head to knee pose, “cheerleader” pose, supine pigeon and cross-legged twist felt amazing. It’s very easy to just move mindlessly into poses that you do on a regular basis. Although I am making a real effort to be mindful, taking a new approach to a particular pose helps a lot with that. I found the idea of bringing the focal points of tree pose, particularly the connection between the foot of the bent leg and the straight leg, to head to knee pose helped to bring a more full body awareness to a pose which I tended to think was centred on the back and side body.

This practice also felt like a good moment to take stock of where I am and how this 31 day Revolution has been going. I am so, so glad that I decided to commit to it. Without wanting to sound too “self help”, there’s something very empowering about committing to take time for yourself each day, especially when that time is spent doing something that can have such a positive impact on the rest of your life. I particularly appreciate that while each Revolution practice does stand on its own, it also builds on the ones that have gone before. One of the goals of this 300 day project is to actively build a yoga practice, rather than simply “do” yoga each day, so this feels like a perfect way to start.

Having said that, the screen grab for tomorrow’s practice features crow pose. My crow currently doesn’t so much fly as fall over very ungracefully whilst failing to even start to get off the ground, so I’m not sure how easy I’ll find it to use words like “perfect” and “empowering” tomorrow…

BUT. Adriene said today that we are in charge of our own inner peace. Yes. Yes we are. That will include, if necessary, being at peace with my clumsy crow.

Leave a Reply

